PLEASE DO NOT USE IMAGEUPPER ON THIS SITE ANYMORE, TO MANY BROKEN LINKS AND DELETED IMAGES

Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Thu May 21, 2015 6:44 am

My laptop died on Monday, thankfully something I was preparing for, but amongst other odd effects, the new one doesn't recognise my Freeview dongle at all. I have wanted to upgrade that, too, but right now just getting one to work is priority.

Can anyone suggest a good laptop Freeview dongle that works in Windows 8.1 x64? Preferably cheap, too - the old one only cost £15!
0 x


Tired of Ads? Login!
User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Sun May 24, 2015 11:21 pm

It works with the August T-205 USB dongle which I used for a while before going HD. Don't use the supplied software and download PVR software such as N-PVR or Mediaportal instead with it. It's only SD mind.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/August-DVB-T205 ... al_qh_dp_i

You may want to upgrade to the August DVB-T210 which comes with HD.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/August-DVB-T210 ... +hd+dongle
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Mon May 25, 2015 12:02 am

The HD one doesn't list Windows 8, whereas the SD one does - you can confirm the HD one works in 8.1?
0 x

User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Mon May 25, 2015 12:06 pm

WCC wrote:The HD one doesn't list Windows 8, whereas the SD one does - you can confirm the HD one works in 8.1?


August have a driver for Win 8 on their website for the T210.

http://www.augustint.com/en/downloadsoft-9.html
1 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Tue May 26, 2015 12:16 am

Nice - will look into it!

Meanwhile, having no patience, I have the SD version finally working :-)
0 x


Tired of Ads? Login!
User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Tue May 26, 2015 12:28 am

WCC wrote:Nice - will look into it!

Meanwhile, having no patience, I have the SD version finally working :-)


Did you download a driver to get it working or did it finally install?
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Tue May 26, 2015 6:21 am

Win 8.1 installed it itself, but it did not detect any channels. However, I updated the drivers with he ones from the supplied CD and it now works.

EDIT: I think I see what you meant - I didn't get the OLD one to work, I ordered the one you pointed me at (which I'd already found myself) and it got here in one day. It's fairly cheap...
0 x

User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Tue May 26, 2015 11:16 am

WCC wrote:Win 8.1 installed it itself, but it did not detect any channels. However, I updated the drivers with he ones from the supplied CD and it now works.

EDIT: I think I see what you meant - I didn't get the OLD one to work, I ordered the one you pointed me at (which I'd already found myself) and it got here in one day. It's fairly cheap...


The SD only one? The software for that dongle is crap, but works great with other software.
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Tue May 26, 2015 6:50 pm

Arcsoft Totalmedia 3.5 is what I've used since I started capping. so that's not an issue.
0 x


Tired of Ads? Login!
User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Tue May 26, 2015 8:36 pm

I haven't used Totalmedia for years. Glad it works well for you as it kept missing channels and recordings were poor.
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:51 pm

Finally got my HD dongle & tested a few caps. It seems a bit less stable than the old one, I may have to abandon Totalmedia and test something else.
0 x

User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:07 pm

WCC wrote:Finally got my HD dongle & tested a few caps. It seems a bit less stable than the old one, I may have to abandon Totalmedia and test something else.


They did look a bit more hazy than the usual HD caps. Next PVR is pretty straight forward to install.
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
gaztaylor
Site Admin
Posts: 8107
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: TS Celebs, of course
x 523
x 4414

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby gaztaylor » Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:26 pm

Bic Basher wrote:
WCC wrote:Finally got my HD dongle & tested a few caps. It seems a bit less stable than the old one, I may have to abandon Totalmedia and test something else.


They did look a bit more hazy than the usual HD caps. Next PVR is pretty straight forward to install.

Not so easy to get to work!
0 x
Please do not post my work anywhere else, its TSCelebs exclusive!


Tired of Ads? Login!
User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:21 pm

gaztaylor wrote:
Bic Basher wrote:
WCC wrote:Finally got my HD dongle & tested a few caps. It seems a bit less stable than the old one, I may have to abandon Totalmedia and test something else.


They did look a bit more hazy than the usual HD caps. Next PVR is pretty straight forward to install.

Not so easy to get to work!


The most important thing is to ensure you have a temp folder in the C:/ folder as 'temp'

More info at http://blog.mattwoodward.com/2013/02/in ... vr-as.html

SichboPVR is a another alternative which is easier to install, but you need to do a UK - All Transmitters tuning search to ensure you get all channels.

However I couldn't get it to work properly with Win 10, same with Next PVR.

http://sichbopvr.com/
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
gaztaylor
Site Admin
Posts: 8107
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: TS Celebs, of course
x 523
x 4414

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby gaztaylor » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:17 am

Sichbopvr is classy and works for me, cheers Mart.
0 x
Please do not post my work anywhere else, its TSCelebs exclusive!

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:20 am

I got NPVR software to work, but some channels are just a blank black screen, some sound only, some vision only and some work fine!

Trying Sichbopvr...
0 x

User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:44 am

WCC wrote:I got NPVR software to work, but some channels are just a blank black screen, some sound only, some vision only and some work fine!

Trying Sichbopvr...


For N-PVR, you need DivX for the HD channel audio and possibly the K-Lite Codec Pack.

In Settings, go to Decoder, and you'll see a menu.

Video Renderer should be set to EVR.
Audio and Music set to default.

In Video Decoders below that.
MPEG2 set to ArcSoft Video Decoder
H264 set to Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder
HEVC Disabled

Audio Decoders
MPEG1 set to Microsoft DTV-DVD audio decoder
AC3 and E-ACE to LAV Audio Decoder
AAC to ArcSoft
HE-AAC to DivX (This is the one that decodes the HD audio.)

Some of these suggestions may also work in Sichbo.
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.


Tired of Ads? Login!
User avatar
gaztaylor
Site Admin
Posts: 8107
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: TS Celebs, of course
x 523
x 4414

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby gaztaylor » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:55 am

Sich is pretty good piece of software, quite a classy look to it. I got absolutely nothing with Nextpvr so gave up and uninstalled it. I'm on XP with no media center or HD, it found my Hauppauge card and scanned all the channels but nothing showed on screen when you pick a channel to watch.
0 x
Please do not post my work anywhere else, its TSCelebs exclusive!

User avatar
Bic Basher
All time posting legend
Posts: 22953
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:27 am
Location: London
x 1393
x 36071

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby Bic Basher » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:58 am

gaztaylor wrote:Sich is pretty good piece of software, quite a classy look to it. I got absolutely nothing with Nextpvr so gave up and uninstalled it.


I tried it in Win 10 and HD didn't work properly despite having the right codecs, I could record from it properly despite having a blank screen
0 x
SOMEIMAGE IS NO LONGER OPERATING. PLEASE DON'T ASK ME TO RE-UPLOAD CAPS AS I DON'T HAVE THEM.

VIDEO LINKS HOSTED ON MEDIAFIRE STILL WORK.

User avatar
WCC
Posting God
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:17 am
x 306
x 1057

Re: Win 8.1 Freeview dongle needed!

Postby WCC » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:27 am

I'll wrestle with both a bit later in the week, meanwhile Totalmedia, despite occasionally crashing, works without all this hassle.

I should mention, I'm now on Windows 10 too.
0 x


Return to “Help Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest